Knitter-in-Chief



It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

This is the first book that I’ve read this school year. I came upon it in the library. After convincing the librarians that I could indeed finish it before December (the book club is going to read this book in December apparently), I checked it out and began to read.

 First of all, I had read a couple pages of this book last summer at a Barnes and Noble. That was the main reason I picked it up in the first place. Anyways, I guess I have a horrible memory, because the whole tone of the book surprised me. It was nothing like what I expected.

 The main character is a 15 year old boy. He’s tested into this school for gifted high school students, but soon finds he’s in over his head. He’s overwhelmed by all the schoolwork and is numb except for when it comes to smoking pot with his best friend and his best friend’s girlfriend (who is complicated in her own way). He starts to develop disordered eating habits and overall depression. He has the idea to kill himself, but ends up in an adult mental ward instead. That’s as much as I’m going to tell you about that.

This book deals with pressures from school, drugs, sex, depression, mental illness and the overall teenage experience. I would say I’m surprised that Mr. Russell, the new librarian that I’ve yet to meet, would pick this book for Literary Club but I’m totally not. Most of the librarians at our school seem pretty open when it comes to books. That’s how it seems to me anyways.

I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I liked it, but I do think it was a little stiff. Still, it’s a good read.

 Does anyone read anymore? Just kidding. I’m not EVEN tackling that one!

Leave a Reply

